The Stig did it… so why can’t Brake Banzeen? The 5 worst cars driven!

After The Stig (Top Gear’s “tame racing driver”, a.k.a. Ben Collins) recently came out and listed the 5 worst cars he had ever driven (read HERE), I thought to myself: “hey, I’ve driven some pretty bad ones myself. Wonder if everyone else would agree”. So here we go:

1. Mitsubishi Colt

The “disaster” as I like to call it. I just hate everything about it. I think it boils down to the fact that most wrecks that I witnessed growing up always involved a nut behind the wheel of a Colt. When I had no choice but to drive one, I was not impressed by anything it had to offer.

2. Hummer H3

Why they decided on even creating this car beats me… terrible behemoth looks and aerodynamically-challenged.

3. Chevrolet Epica

Need I say more?

4. Pontiac Firebird

A friend lent me his one time and I was super-excited… until I realized that it was over-sized, over-powered with little traction available (unless the annoying traction control steps in), and it was draped in plastic throughout the interior. You couldn’t even see the end point of the hood so you were bound to nail something on the road.

5. Ferrari Mondial

Yes… I know. A Ferrari actually made it to the list? I think it has to do with the fact that I was young and so excited to finally drive a Ferrari that I was expecting the earth, the moon and the stars. As you can tell, I wasn’t impressed. Still, this doesn’t mean I would rate it the same if I have the chance to drive it again now.

Anyone care to share their worst experience(s)?

Explore posts in the same categories: Rants

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “The Stig did it… so why can’t Brake Banzeen? The 5 worst cars driven!”

  1. Mathai Says:

    A Colt is #1? I thought it was a fun-to-drive little thing. Yeah true about the nuts behind the wheels.

    I haven’t driven many bad cars but one of the worst was a friend’s GMC Envoy. I was expecting it to be a good based on the comments from a lot of people but it felt like I was driving a boat 😛

  2. B Says:

    hahahaha! Some crappy cars for sure!

  3. Marzouq Says:

    Lol! H2 is perfect on that list! I would add the range rover as well!

  4. Sinful eye's Says:

    ohhh the epica was horrible ! also gms envoy and chivy blazer !
    hmm what else ,, also grand Cherokee with 5.7 engine ,, nooo traction at alll ,, what ever u do ,, even when the traction control kicks in ,, u still not safe and the power at the wheel is toooo much to handle

    • el wehbi Says:

      The 5.7 Hemi is super fast for a jeep, but soooooo dangerous if you try to push it over the limit. It seems that a lot of American cars are being mentioned here lol

  5. carfreakuk Says:

    I’ve driven alot of cars, and owned a colt CJ (the shape mentioned) and it’s a fantastic car. Handles great, come with good standard spec against other similar aged cars available here in Europe and they are impossible to kill except for the common and easy to prevent problem of the rusting rear chassis legs

  6. Cragman Says:

    The cj colt is a great everyday car, I strongly suggest you drive the import cyborg version of the car if your after handeling and power instead of insulting a car designed to get people from A to B (and it does this very well)

  7. el wehbi Says:

    @carfreakuk and Cragman: Didn’t think the Colt would hit home with others, so no insult meant here lol As I mentioned in the post, I have seen too many of these cars involved in negative situations that when I finally drove one, I couldn’t find anything to like about it. Appreciate your comments fellas!


Leave a Reply

