Launched! 2012 BMW M5 finally arrives!

The 2012 BMW M5 has finally broken cover! Make no mistake, this latest M car means business. It isn’t at all far off from the concept model shown a few months back.

The larger intakes, the signature quad-tailpipes and the M-wheels definitely play their part in representing the car’s aggressive character.

Replacing the beloved V10 engine is the new twin-turbo V8 packing 552 hp and 501lb-ft of torque (an increase of 42hp and 118lb-ft – respectively –Β over the V10). The massive increase in torque helps launch the M5 from 0-100km/h in an estimated 4.4 seconds. This hefty beast is no slouch!

The interior is your typical BMW-spartan-straight-to-the-point cockpit. Unfortunately, except for the U.S. market according to reports, the manual option will not be available. Instead, a dual-clutch transmission will assume shifting duties. The thick M steering wheel and gauges are always a welcomed sight, reminding the driver that this is no ordinary driving machine. Pricing hasn’t been officially announced, but from the numbers being thrown around it definitely won’t be cheap.

Explore posts in the same categories: Automotive, Launched!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Launched! 2012 BMW M5 finally arrives!”

  1. Bol3ethem Says:

    Keep it up, I always check ur posts πŸ˜‰

  2. Miss Good Egg Says:

    I don’t know why when it comes to BMWs, I consider them as monstrous machines as most German cars are but I get quickly bored of their external design. I like their logo and how they mostly look from the front but overall they remind me of “goo6i”… if that makes any sense :/ I don’t mind driving one over the limit of 230 though. They’re quite sturdy..

    Do I sound like I know what I’m talking about? I’m curious.

  3. Miss Good Egg Says:

    Like for example compare them to Mercedes Benz (totally being biased here since I drive one) but the older they are, the more classier they look. You don’t get bored of them. They have that sexy edge to them but the one you posted looks like a goo6i…they all look like gwa6i on wheels.

    But you know what? I think it’s this specific design that! Because I just found this online and I think it looks HOT!

    but I still need to see it in real life to decide if it’s goo6i or not.

  4. Miss Good Egg Says:

    Also the first picture has a flat tire, laish 3oya? (ok i’ll shut up now).

  5. skoubaissi Says:

    The engine bay pic is just as nice and amazing as the car itself!!!! Thanks el wehbi!!! Anything on the new X5 M?

  6. SpdLmtNA Says:

    Miss Good Egg, I understand your views on how the car may become a bit mundane after a few looks, but the point is just that. If you live in a place where these rigs are constantly driving by (such as Kuwait) maybe having something that stands out a little more is better, but here in the States, it’s nice having a car that blends in, and is secretly a Ferrari-killer. Only the trained eye will know what lurks beneath the hood of this monster. One thing I’d like to add though, is that I’m a little unimpressed by its 0-60 time (US) of 4.4 seconds, that’s a little slow for 560 hp. I wouldnt mind paying half the price and taking an extra 1 second to reach 60mph in a 535.

  7. Bu Nader Says:

    BMW.co.uk has the car starting at Β£73k. That’s around KD 35k…

  8. Marzouq Says:

    A beautiful machine! I really want to get my hands on it! Just to drive it around a bit πŸ˜›

  9. el wehbi Says:

    @Miss Good Egg: I can see where you’re coming from. Looks do play an integral role in a car’s desire-factor. But BMW has always been understated in this department, except for the E30 M3 (widebody looks). Audi has definitely played their cards right in this department, but with BMW it has always been about the way the car drives. They have never really been known for having the most beautiful cars, just “the ultimate driving machine” as they like to call it.

    @skoubaissi: I don’t have much on the X5M, but I can tell you that it is a monster. Driven one lately? πŸ˜‰

    @SpdLmtNA: I totally agree with you that it’s nice to drive an understated “sleeper”, but I was also expecting better 0-100km/h times.

    @Bu Nader: Are those MSRP prices? I’m sure dealers will place a premium on those. GCC dealers will for sure lol

    @Marzouq: If you do get your hands on one, I want to know right away! I bet it drives really well!

  10. 6are8 Says:

    Now that’s quite refreshing from BM-Vay. i think that would pose some serious competition to the car that’s always trying to kill you AKA the C63… @wehbulla how do you think that will fair against the M-trois? or maybe the RS-cinq??

    • el wehbi Says:

      Technically speaking, it shouldn’t be compared to the C63… more like E63.

      I think the new M5 will definitely have a healthy performance advantage over the M3. It should with those twin-turbos spooling over 500bhp.

      On track, the M3 may be a better weapon because of its overall size but still, the M5s of the past were never turtles either. An M5 was just as fast as a Ferrari F430 around some circuits. Can’t wait to see one on the road!


Leave a Reply

