There goes my social life… GulfRun’s new simulator arrives!

I was one of a few lucky bloggers who were invited by GulfRun to test out their new racing simulator in Baroue at the Avenues Mall. I’m in love (apologies to my wife)!

As you can see from the images, this is no arcade-type simulator, it’s the real deal. Running PC-based software used by professional racing drivers and teams from around the world, we were able to sample and drive a virtual Formula BMW in all its it glory.

Once we arrived, the GulfRun boys, as always, welcomed us with open arms and gave us a quick breakdown as to how to operate the machine. The details are mind-blowing with springs, actuators, bolts and bits out in the open for everyone to see; many of the items are custom-built. Once you slide into the lightweight racing seat, you’re buckled in tightly. At first, I thought to myself “do I really need these belts on”? YES! Once the race was underway, the seat threw me around like I weighed 15kgs. My heartbeat was racing as I knew I only had 3 laps to nail a good time as we were in friendly competition against one other (time sheets are up on GulfRun blog, HERE).

My first outing was interesting. I knew I was over-driving the car partially because I was intimidated by the simulator… and the fact that there were people standing behind me. Not a good time to mess up. I did lose control at one point, but I regained my composure and put in a decent lap time. Second time out, I felt much more comfortable braking late and managing the throttle on the exit of the corners. I posted a better time during that run.

All in all, I can tell you one thing: trips to the Avenues Mall will never be the same… in an awesome way! Thanks GulfRun!

[Images Source: GulfRun, His & Hers]

Explore posts in the same categories: Gaming, GulfRun Posts

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

17 Comments on “There goes my social life… GulfRun’s new simulator arrives!”

  1. ASM Says:

    great driving mabrook on 1st place πŸ™‚

  2. Marzouq Says:

    Next time I will destroy you!!!!! Loooool! Challenge ISSUED!

  3. el wehbi Says:

    @ASM: Thanks man! I’m craving another go at it!

    @Marzouq: LOL Those are fighting words you’re using! Challenge ACCEPTED!

  4. 6are8 Says:

    @el wehbi Nice time! What tracks were you racing, or is the circuit fictional?
    @marzouq really? Maybe the gutra got in the way πŸ˜‰

  5. Miss Good Egg Says:

    I saw the score list today. Good job, you all did great. Once the fuss is cooled down, I’ll go try my hands on it. U wont stay on top of the list for long πŸ™‚

  6. el wehbi Says:

    @6are8: Thanks man! I believe it was the Oschersleben Circuit in Germany (layout B)… not so sure, so if any of you GulfRun people want to jump in and correct me please do.

    @Miss Good Egg: You have to try it out! It’s awesome! And if you’re challenging, then you may as well join Marzouq and I in our “challenge” hehe

    • Miss Good Egg Says:

      At this point u both look better than me but I’m gonna wait until u all get bored of it & ur skills go rusty and then I’ll slate it πŸ˜›

    • 6are8 Says:

      We best have a BatCave challaaaanj! Need to get the boys out πŸ˜‰ can you rent out the simulator per hour? If not that might be a good idea for the GR crew to consider! hindi maskeen doesn’t like waiting :s

  7. Mathai Says:

    I gotta check this out soon! πŸ™‚

  8. Anas GulfRun Says:

    Thanks for the great review. Yes, the track is Oschersleben B-Course in Germany.

    You need to come to get a better time, 1:08 is good, but you need a maximum of 1:06 to be considered good enough πŸ˜‰

  9. BuYousef Says:

    This looks fantastic… Heard about this but didn’t realize how realistic it is. Congrats on the win πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

