A piece of Senna in Kuwait

I had to pass by Ali Alghanim & Sons Automotive showroom the other day and as I walked in, BAM! Less than 5 meters away from me was a car I drooled over during my childhood: McLaren F1’s MP4-8 race car.

Why I admired it as a teenager was because in 1993, Ayrton Senna piloted this very car to 5 victories and placed 2nd overall in the Formula 1 Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships.

The reason for the MP4-8’s presence at Ali Alghanim & Sons’ facility is that it was shipped over for the opening of McLaren Automotive’s showroom. The race car will be on permanent display to exhibit the brand’s direct ties to its F1 heritage.

To think that the legend himself once sat in this same car is completely mind-boggling to me.

McLaren’s auto manufacturing efforts are set to expand with a portfolio of cars on the horizon, as well as the McLaren F1’s successor.

As I wrapped up my little secretive photoshoot, I began to feel goosebumps all over my body. I mean, how many times would I have gotten the chance to get this close to a car Senna had raced? Well knowing that it’s parked at the McLaren showroom, I’ll now get the chance quite often.

Explore posts in the same categories: F1, Racing, Rants

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “A piece of Senna in Kuwait”

  1. Hamoud Says:

    “MIND BLASTING” !!!!


  2. […] showroom in Shuwaikh and took some great photos of the Senna Formula 1 car. Check out his shots [Here] Share Feb 13, […]

  3. SpdLmtNA Says:

    Wow, very impressive. I like the side profile pic of the rear wheel too.

  4. ALT Says:

    cant beleive it !!! this is beyond cool … Kuwait gets to keep a car the belongs to the best F1 driver of all time !!! amazing pics bro … cant wait to see Senna’s beast in person

  5. El Jockey Says:

    I miss F1 racing from the Senna days, just that much more aggressive. RIP Senna, you are def missed


  6. I’m waiting for a post on the Zagato…

  7. Marzouq Says:

    Very cool! I can’t believe they brought it here!

  8. el wehbi Says:

    @SpdLmtNA: Thanks!

    @ALT: Thanks man! Definitely go and check it out in person.

    @El Jockey: I totally agree! I feel bad for people that missed out on those years.

    @Miss Good Egg: Hate to disappoint you but I won’t be doing anything on the Zagato anytime soon 😦

  9. Mathai Says:

    I was lucky enough to stand two feet near it 🙂

  10. fred Says:

    Awesome!!

    Can you make flash photographs of the inside? Like the pedals and such?

    • el wehbi Says:

      I’m pretty sure they won’t stand in your way 😉 Nobody objected to me taking photographs, and I got pretty close to the car as well.


Leave a Reply

