In memory of Carroll Shelby (1923-2012)

On the 10th of May, 2012, the sad news of Carroll Shelby’s death landed in my inbox. I wasn’t shocked, especially since I had known that his health condition was beginning to deteriorate, but I was feeling blue.

For those of you not familiar with Carroll Shelby, he was the man that brought us the Shelby Cobra. He also helped Ford beat Ferrari to a LeMans victory. And last but not least, he was the influence behind many modified Mustangs.

The memorial event was hosted by the Historical Vintage & Classic Cars Museum. If you recall a few months back, this same museum hosted a gathering to celebrate Mr. Shelby’s 89th birthday.

On hand were numerous classic and new Mustangs, a few replica Shelby models and some other American sports cars as well. The U.S. Ambassador also paid the museum a visit. I wonder if he’s a car guy?

A group of Dodge Vipers also took part in the event to honor the legend.

As I was about to leave, I caught this beautiful and extremely rare Ford GTX1 (the roadster version of the Ford GT). It was the perfect way to end the evening.

Explore posts in the same categories: Events

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “In memory of Carroll Shelby (1923-2012)”

  1. skoubaissi Says:

    RIP Mr. Shelby. A legend!

  2. icecube76 Says:

    Great pictures , do you have more oictures of the eleanor , blue shelby and gt40?

    • el wehbi Says:

      Thanks! Unfortunately, I do not. I was in a bit of a rush so I didn’t get much of a chance to shoot each individual car. I did have another one of the Ford GTX1, but it didn’t come out as clear as I had hoped. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

