One step closer… Mercedes A45 AMG

The hot-hatch segment is so important nowadays that every automaker seems to have at least one model in its lineup. Audi always had it with the S3 and BMW is now pushing the envelope with its M135i. Only seems fitting for Mercedes to join the party with a beefed up version of its A-Class.

The A45 AMG will sport a set of 18-inch wheels, twin chrome tail pipes, aggressive grilles, electromagnetic speed-sensitive sports steering and AMG brakes. It will also pack a 2.0-liter four-cylinder turbocharged engine with 349hp and 332lb-ft of torque good for 0-100km/h runs of 5.1 seconds.

The finalized hatchback AMG (prototype model pictured) is set to debut at the 2013 Geneva Motor Show. Expect more details then.

Explore posts in the same categories: Automotive

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “One step closer… Mercedes A45 AMG”

  1. al6are8 Says:

    horrible, looks like a seat Ibiza or Leo, whichever is the uglier one!

  2. khabah Says:

    That yellow isn’t doing it any favors, but I can’t wait for this! Audi’s new S3 is already quite an attractive prospect and I hope they’re finalizing the long-rumored S1 [if properly done, that should be a hot little hatch], but a full-on luxury AMG is definitely something to look forward to.

    Bring it.

  3. el wehbi Says:

    @al6are8: Although I respect your comparison, I must admit that I kind of like the way it looks. Maybe it’s because I think the new regular A-Class has a nice demeanor to it, so adding anything AMG makes it that much nicer to me. Guess I’ll have to see it in person first to make my final judgement.

    @khabah: Audi’s S3 is definitely the looker of the bunch, but even though I’m not a fan of the BMW M135i’s looks, it takes the cake for me when it comes to performance and driveability (judging from what I have read in the press).


Leave a Reply

